does Jesus care?

Standard

Nahum 1:7 “The Lord is good, a refuge in times of trouble. He cares for those who trust in him,”

 1 Peter 5: 7 ” Cast all your cares upon him; for he cares for you.”

 I have once again been struggling in my heart with the question of “does Jesus care?”  Its been a common struggle for me over the past few years to think of God as vindictive or angry as opposed to a loving and caring Father. 

 When things in my life don’t make sense, I tend to assume that God is holding out on me… keeping good things from me to punish me or simply to teach me a lesson.  Instead He’s been reminding me lately that confusion or His apparent silence doesn’t equate with apathy… and it doesn’t necessarily mean that He is trying to “teach me a lesson.” 

 It simply means that its another opportunity for me to trust that what He’s said is true… that He knows what’s best for me… that He has planned my steps… that He guards my ways… that He watches over me… that He is good and wants good for me… that He cares.

 Thinking through these things reminded me of the song “does Jesus care?”  I love the words: “Oh yes, He cares… His heart is touched with my grief…When the days are weary, the long nights dreary, I KNOW my Savior cares.”

 1 Peter 5: 7 ” Cast all your cares upon him; for he cares for you.”

Does Jesus care when my heart is pained
Too deeply for mirth or song,
As the burdens press, and the cares distress,
And the way grows weary and long? 

Refrain:
Oh, yes, He cares, I know He cares,
His heart is touched with my grief;
When the days are weary, the long nights dreary,
I know my Savior cares.

Does Jesus care when my way is dark
With a nameless dread and fear?
As the daylight fades into deep night shades,
Does He care enough to be near?

 Does Jesus care when I’ve tried and failed
To resist some temptation strong;
When for my deep grief there is no relief,
Though my tears flow all the night long?

 Does Jesus care when I’ve said “goodbye”
To the dearest on earth to me,
And my sad heart aches till it nearly breaks—
Is it aught to Him? Does He see?

Refrain:
Oh, yes, He cares, I know He cares,
His heart is touched with my grief;
When the days are weary, the long nights dreary,
I know my Savior cares.

1 Peter 5: 7 ” Cast all your cares upon him; for he cares for you.”

5 responses »

  1. You express a very common–and natural–reaction to suffering. Sometimes the Lord will let us in on the answer to the “Why?” question, and sometimes not. Faith involves trusting Him with the experience, even if He never tells us why.

    In the Christian life, there is often that tension between feelings and faith. We see it a number of times in the Psalms. Check out Ps. 13. In the first 4 verses, David tells the Lord bluntly how he feels about things. Then comes a “but,” in verse 5. It is as though he says, “This is how I’m feeling, but this is how I’m faithing”–if I can put it that way.

    I wrote an article years ago called “Truth in Our Trials.” It lists 12 biblical principles and 35 purposes of God related to human suffering. You can read the article here…
    http://www.wordwise-bible-studies.com/truth-about-suffering.html

    Glad to see Graeff’s fine gospel song on the subject. It is arranged similarly to the psalm I mentioned. It begins with questions: Does Jesus Care? and ends with a triumphant note of faith, Oh yes, He cares!

    The history of our hymns and hymn writers has been a study of mine over many years. If you would like to learn more about the hymns we sing, I invite you to check out my daily blog on the subject, Wordwise Hymns. God bless.

  2. Hi Tilly,
    thanks for your comments. I’ve learned (though sometimes i still struggle and doubt) that God is truly faithful through every trial. I will be praying that He continues to assure you of this truth as well.

  3. Thanks for posting the encouraging hymn “Does Jesus Care?” Today is the 80th anniversary of the death of the man who composed the tune, Joseph Hall.

    If you enjoy reading about our hymns and their authors, I invite you to check out my daily blog on the subject, Wordwise Hymns.

    And if you’ll excuse a brief “commercial:” If you do not have a good book on the subject of our Christmas carols, I encourage you to take a look at my own, Discovering the Songs of Christmas. In it, I discuss the history and meaning of 63 carols and Christmas hymns. The book is available through Amazon, or directly from Jebaire Publishing. (Might make a great gift too!)

Leave a Reply

