when the dots don’t connect…

Standard

lately i seem to be back into a season where the dots just don’t seem to connect.  i’m weary.  physically i’m weak.  emotionally i’m tired.  spiritually i’m worn down and dry.  mentally i’m… well, i guess i’ve never been right in that area… :)

i have failed to cling to my hope in Christ.  i’ve failed to trust Him to provide.  i’ve questioned whether God really wants what’s best for me.  i’ve accused Him of forgetting me… or simply leading me on only to later disappoint.

i’m powerless to lift myself from the pit that i am in. 

and then i’m reminded of the gospel… Christ came to lift me from my own self-made destruction and misery.   He came to give me a rock of hope to cling to that will never fail… not in physical pain, loneliness, confusion, darkness… never.  He promised He would never leave me. 

that applies not only to the day He redeemed my soul 4 years ago but for today as well. in the middle of a migraine, He holds me.  In the middle of my questioning His goodness, He holds me secure in His arms of love.  In the middle of loneliness, He never leaves my side.  In my tired weariness, He reminds me that He is the God who watches over me and He never sleeps.  There is never a moment when He is not in control of every event of my life. 

I’m reminded of the hymn “Be Still my Soul.”  While visiting Covenant Life a few weeks ago, we sang this song… its been in my head ever since.  It is such a great example of “talking to yourself” instead of “listening to yourself.”

 I think my favorite line is “be still my soul your Jesus can repay from His own fulness all He takes away.”

In the past few years, its obvious with even a brief glance at my life that God has taken much.  He’s taken friends.  He’s taken people I looked to and respected.  He’s taken a sense of belonging and home.  He’s taken my health.  He’s taken much more. 

But I have the promise that He will never take His presence from me.   And knowing that, nothing else matters.  I’d rather Him take my health, security and comfort than to leave all those and take His presence.. 

That is the reason that my soul can be still.  That is the reason my weary soul can find hope.  I am just praying for grace that God will connect those dots…

For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him.  He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken.  On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God.   Trust in him at all times, O people;  pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us. (Psalm 62:5-8)

Be still, my soul: the Lord is on your side.
Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain.
Leave to your God to order and provide;
In every change, He faithful will remain.
Be still, my soul: your best, your heavenly Friend
Through thorny ways leads to a joyful end.

Be still, my soul: your God will undertake
To guide the future, as He has the past.
Your hope, your confidence let nothing shake;
All now mysterious shall be bright at last.
Be still, my soul: the waves and winds still know
His voice Who ruled them while He dwelt below.

Be still, my soul: when dearest friends depart,
And all is darkened in the vale of tears,
Then shalt you better know His love, His heart,
Who comes to soothe your sorrow and your fears.
Be still, my soul: your Jesus can repay
From His own fullness all He takes away.

Be still, my soul: the hour is hastening on
When we shall be forever with the Lord.
When disappointment, grief and fear are gone,
Sorrow forgot, love’s purest joys restored.
Be still, my soul: when change and tears are past
All safe and blessèd we shall meet at last.

Be still, my soul: begin the song of praise
On earth, believing, to your Lord on high;
Acknowledge Him in all your words and ways,
So shall He view you with a well pleased eye.
Be still, my soul: the Sun of life divine
Through passing clouds shall but more brightly shine.

6 responses »

  1. Oh, dear Emily. Thank you for sharing your heart today. And thank you for always doing this- for being so honest and transparent. I needed to read this today, and my heart has hope again. Praying for you!

  2. Charissa, I was praying for you this afternoon! One sweet thing about being in the middle of a migraine is that God always brings friends to my mind…friends that have suffered much more than I have…friends like you. Somehow its during those times that God gives me the grace to pray and plead for you in the middle of your pains too. I read a post on challis.com from 2 days ago that talks about how God uses our individual sufferng to draw the body of Christ closer together. I’ve experienced that even this week. I’m glad my failure and questioning was encouraging to you, my sweet friend. We are beloved daughters of a great and powerful God who loves us passionately. I’m glad when I can’t hang on any longer (this week for example) that He is lovingly holding and patiently growing me! Love you

  3. I love coming to this blog to read. It is refreshing to read about a walk in Christ from the trenches… from a “private’s perspective” so to speak.

    Thank you for being so open and honest. Praying for you… and continue to preach to yourself!

  4. steve and john, i’m continually humbled that my struggles with pain, despair and hopelesness are being used by God to encourage you. that alone gives me hope to keep on pursuing the One who’s promised to never let me go. thanks for your encouragement.

  5. I would rather you not have such an example – but it is an example of God’s mercy and grace to others when such things can be used by others.

    Praying for you. May God provide you with healing, but until then (and beyond) may He sustain you in His hands.

    ybiC,

    ~ john

Leave a Reply

