how to suffer

Standard

“If Christ calls me to suffer, he will strengthen me to suffer in such a way that God is glorified.”  J. Burroughs.

 

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.  All the works of the Lord are steadfast love and faithfulness.  In faithfulness you have afflicted me… that Christ may be glorified in my body, whether by life or by death. We are pressed on every side but not crushed, persecuted but not forsaken, cast down but not destroyed.  For I am convinced that nothing can separate me from the Love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.  I am poor and needy—yet the Lord thinks upon me!  He only is my Rock, my Fortress.  I shall not be shaken.

  Sing for joy, O heavens! Rejoice, O earth! Burst into song, O mountains! For the Lord has comforted his people and will have compassion on them in their sorrow.  They will be radiant because of the many gifts the Lord has given them—the good crops of wheat, wine, and oil, and the healthy flocks and herds. When they walk through the Valley of Weeping, it will become a place of refreshing springs, where pools of blessing collect after the rains!  Their life will be like a watered garden, and all their sorrows will be gone. 

I will never leave you or forsake you.  I will not leave you as orphans.  I, even I, am the one who comforts you.  Cast all your cares upon Me, for I care for you.  I will provide for your needs according to my riches and glory. 

 

“Beloved, it is well. It is good to be afflicted. Our days of suffering here we call days of darkness; hereafter they will seem our brightest and fairest. In eternity we shall praise Jehovah, most of all for our sorrows and tears. So blessed shall they then seem to us, that we shall wonder how we could ever have wept and sighed.” (Horatius Bonar)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

