The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe

Standard

I went home for lunch today and I listened to the CD in the kitchen CD player while I was eating. I turned it on because I wanted to listen to something but didn’t want to go upstairs to get a CD. So I figured I’d just play whatever was there. It happened to be disc 14 from the Audiobook of The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. This is the section in the book where Aslan is killed on the stone table and then is raised up again. Convenient timing to what we’ve been learning at church…

Well the part that really stood out to me was something that I’ve never really noticed before. The white witch tells Aslan that his sacrifice is going to be in vain because once he’s dead there’s nothing to stop her from killing Edmund and the others. She was excited because not only was she going to succeed in killing Aslan but also she will be able to kill the very people he is dying to protect. For some reason, God brought Romans 6 to my mind…

Romans 6:4-6
We were buried therefore with him by baptism into death, in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might walk in newness of life. For if we have been united with him in a death like his, we shall certainly be united with him in a resurrection like his. We know that our old self was crucified with him in order that the body of sin might be brought to nothing, so that we would no longer be enslaved to sin.

It hit me today that the resurrection ties together so well to my life and my daily struggle with sin. Because Christ was resurrected, Satan doesn’t have power over me. He can’t “get to me” because I’m in Christ. I’m safe there from the slavery that Satan brings. Just like Edmund’s life was spared once again from the white witch because Aslan rose from the dead my life is spared because of the resurrection. But not just spared from death, but also I’ve been given the power to walk in a new life. A life where I don’t have to be a slave to my sin, but where I can see victory.

Leave a Reply

