2nd Wednesday club

Standard

Thoughts as I prepare for 2nd Wednesday…
Romans 12:12
“Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.”

I was thinking about the hope that I have – hope of an eternity with God, hope of my complete sanctification one day, hope because the Holy Spirit is at work in me, hope because our God is good and loves to LAVISH his children. This hope gives me an eternal perspective and helps with troubles or things that don’t make sense to me. It gives me patience to bear through the hard times (aka. singleness, in debt, etc) because I know my God is bigger than all my problems, frustrations, sins, etc. That’s why God wants me to be faithful in prayer. Because that act of prayer shows my dependence on Him in the midst of all my circumstances. It takes my eyes off of my own life and puts them on His life, death, resurrection, etc.

Father, please help me to remember this verse and what it means, remember the hope that I have and remember that you are my GOOD God. The one who sent His son to die for me because He loves me. The one who met my greatest need before I was even aware of it. Please give me the faith to trust in You, rely on You as my strength and have the confident hope that YOU are at work in my life. I look forward to tomorrow and what you will do.

Thank you that you are a God that delights in giving good gifts to His children. I pray that you would show your character again, and lovingly provide godly husbands and leaders for my friends and I. Not so that we can take our eyes off you and look to our husbands to satisfy, but rather so that it will yet again be another opportunity to praise you and bring glory to you. Thank you that your power (the same power that raised Christ from the dead) is at work in us. I pray that in the coming months we would see this power displayed in very tangible ways in this area in our little group.

Give me the humility to see that its not my fasting that impresses you – rather the sacrifice of your Son. Help me to humbly rely on that as my only source of boasting. Thank you for your kindness. Thank you for your love. I pray that you would work in my heart so that I desire you as my one true love above the love of any man. And I pray that as you do this, my hope, patience and faithfulness to you would increase.

Leave a Reply

