The Sovereign Shepherd

Standard

Lord, the path before me’s looming dark
The way ahead’s unclear.
I can’t see where you are working
Or even if you’re leading here.
It’s such a struggle to trust you
Though I know you to be true.
I’m helpless – like a sheep, dear God,
I don’t know what to do.

My child, stop and listen –
I’m calling you to come.
Though you do not know the way –
I swear – that truly I’m the One
Who will lead and guide you gently
Like a dad – I’m here, I care.
Don’t forget I won’t desert you –
My child, I’ll always be there.

But God, I cannot hear you and
I cannot feel your touch.
I’m longing for your guidance – how
I need it oh so much.
I trust you, but where are you?
Are you even really near?
I’m in a fog, my Savior –
Don’t you know and see my fear?

Oh, Child, please be patient,
I’m working though you can’t see;
What looks like midnight to you now
Is clear as day to me.
I’m sovereign – gently working
Not to harm, but to refine.
I gave my precious son for you –
Gave all so you’d be mine.

You doubt that I still love and care –
Don’t doubt – look to the cross
For there your sacrifice was paid
And every sin was washed.
You cannot earn this love I give
and you can’t find the way.
You need my tender loving hand
to guide you every day.

You fear the unknown bends ahead –
Don’t fear – you are not lost.
Oh, please my child do not forget
I’ve fully paid the cost.
You’re not lost and not forgotten
Not rejected or alone – like a sheep
I’ve carried you – sweet child, home –
Here into my fold.

You cannot see the path ahead but
I can – trust in Me.
It’s only through the eyes of faith
You’ll ever clearly see.
Just trust me – do not be afraid –
My whispering voice you’ll hear –
Just listen – I’m your faithful God
And I am always near.

2 responses »

  1. Very nice poem. You write well.

    It is also encouraging.

    “My child, stop and listen –
    I’m calling you to come.
    Though you do not know the way –
    I swear – that truly I’m the One
    Who will lead and guide you gently
    Like a dad – I’m here, I care.
    Don’t forget I won’t desert you –
    My child, I’ll always be there.”

    Stop and listen… wise words!

Leave a Reply

