Boasting

Standard

Thus says the LORD: “Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom, let not the mighty man boast in his might, let not the rich man boast in his riches, but let him who boasts boast in this, that he understands and knows me, that I am the LORD who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth. For in these things I delight, declares the LORD.”
Jeremiah 9:23-24

My wisdom doesn’t know what job I’ll be doing tomorrow.
My might can’t make my headaches go away.
My riches can’t magically make my bills disappear.

But I have a God who is steadfast in His love. That love doesn’t change when the winds blow. Through His justice, His wrath was fully poured out on His Son on the cross. That means it will never be poured out on me. That is grace and that is amazing! He is righteous in the earth – He is sovereignly in control of all things. That combination is a God who is powerful, loving and just. That is more than enough reason for boasting!

I want to know that God more. I want a deeper understanding of His love, His justice as displayed on the cross and His sovereign control over all things. I want my boasting to be there – not in my ability to think or act or anything else.

I believe that God is stripping me and divorcing me (albeit painfully) from my boasting in myself. But I’m so self-deceived. Even in that process, I still try to sneak a little of my own righteousness into the process. I still seek to earn or deserve. By seeing my weakness, its obvious why my boasting should not rest there. By comparing that weakness with all-powerful loving Soveriengty, there is no comparison.

All boasting to Him. All praise to Him. He knows my future. He knows my present struggles. He knows my desire to understand Him deeper, and He will bring this to pass. He will receive glory in my life. There is no other option. How is it possible for Him, a sovereign holy God, to receive delight in me? As I repent of my pride and arrogant self-boasting, and humbly seek a deeper understanding of His greatness (realizing that the more I see this, the more I am also aware of the depths of my pride), He receives glory and delights in my actions. Not because I accomplished anything, but because I see that I cannot accomplish anything and that everything that is accomplished through me… any wisdom, might or riches I have… is a gift that has been given to me by a loving, just, righteous God. Those are good gifts. The Giver is generous. He receives glory as I learn to boast in Him, for this boasting magnifies His greatness.

Leave a Reply

