Why I Blog

Standard

I have been thinking over the past few days what the purpose of this blog is. I am not a pastor. In my mind are no brilliant, life-changing thoughts that will rock the world. For over a year, no one read my posts and only a few close friends even knew this place existed. I have nothing special to share. My life is very ordinary – I live in an ordinary place, drive an ordinary car, and sit in an ordinary cubicle 5 days each and every week.

But here’s the point. My God is far from ordinary. He is magnificent and His works are amazing.

My wayward heart tends to forget that truth. I tend to get stuck in the “ordinary” and miss what God is doing, miss who God is in the midst of it all. This blog is my reminder. It is a reminder to not forget God… not forget His work on the Cross… and not forget his works that are present in my life and the lives of my friends.

The children of Israel forgot their God (Judges 3:7). I don’t want to make that same mistake. The Christian life is a marathon (Hebrews 12:1). I want to prepare in every way possible for the joy that is set before me. I want my endurance to grow.

My prayer is that my thoughts as I’m simultaneously training for and running in this race – that seeing God’s faithfulness in my past would spur me (aka us) on to run harder… that seeing answered prayers would cause us to rejoice more in our God… and that remembering His works will encourage us to not grow weary but instead to continue faithfully pursuing the One who lovingly pursued us first.

6 responses »

  1. I think our blogs are a lot alike. I don’t have any earth shattering insights either! LOL

    But it is good to talk about our God who has done so much in our lives. If for nothing other than for ourselves to recount and reflect.

    Keep up the good work, and to God be the glory!

    \o/

  2. sometimes I wonder if God is more satisfied with faithful plodding anyhow. if you think about it, the majority of our lives is spent in “menial” things.

    i think us learning what it means to glorify God through those “non-life-shattering” events brings Him much glory.

    you’re right, its good to recount and reflect. :)

  3. It’s really funny that you wrote this today. Randomly today at work, I thought about you, and thought “I should leave her a comment and let her know how much I enjoy reading her thoughts and insights even when I don’t comment”. How’s that for fitting with this post? :)

    It’s true though – God has gifted you with an understanding and knowledge of scripture that challenges me.

    Keep doing what you do, by the grace of God :)

  4. I appreciate reading blogs that are a down to earth yet heavenly recounting and reflecting of God’s grace and work in our lives. In our weakness (non-life-shattering events) he is made strong and beautiful for His glory.

    Keep it up.

    Georges (The Thirsty Frenchman)

  5. thanks Leanne. I’ve been praying for you and that God would grant you close fellowship / unity with your church friends (aka a “sense of belonging”).

    Georges – I’m glad you stopped by. Thanks for your encouragement.

  6. I appreciate your blog because you’re going through trials (some moderately unique, some not so unique…trials all the same) and you preach to yourself through your writing. You’re an example to me of how I must talk to myself rather than listening to my emotions and random thoughts that may have little to no reflection of the Truth. I’m encouraged to know there’s someone my age who perseveres each day even with chronic pain and celiac disease, and still praises the Lord. I appreciate your humor and your honesty – you’re quick to break it down and call it for what it is. You’re quick to point back to God while recounting circumstances, making Him preeminent. Your ordinary-ness in life situation and un-ordinary-ness in response to God’s Word is what makes your writing a blessing to others.

    I use my blog to reach others and, in a sense, as a sort of spiritual journal. I’m not good at journaling. But I’m more disciplined about writing down what I’ve been thinking about through my blog. I can look back and see how God has been working in my life in the last year since I began blogging.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

