lately

Standard

God’s been working lately.  invasive open heart quadruple bypass surgery.   Through each cut of the Surgeon’s knife, through each stitch of the needle, I’ve been reminded of my Father’s tender care. 

 

Through a deep, dark valley of confusion, He led me.  Through some of the worst migraines of my life, God faithfully upheld me.   the beginning of Lamentations 3 (verses 1-18) talks about sitting in dust and ashes and feeling hopelessly left there.  Last week alone, I think I used an entire box of Kleenex.  But Psalm 113 reminds me that my God lifts me up from my ash heap.  What hope!  Though in some ways, the harvest is “over” and there is still no fruit, my God has not and will not forsake.  He is faithful. 

 

“My help comes from the Lord, who made the heavens and the earth! He will not let you stumble and fall; the one who watches over you will not sleep. Indeed, He who watches over Israel never tires and never sleeps. The Lord Himself watches over you! The Lord stands beside you as your protective shade. The sun will not hurt you by day, nor the moon at night. The Lord keeps you from all evil and preserves your life. The Lord keeps watch over you as you come and go—both now and forever.” Psalm 121:1-8

 

He won’t let me stumble.  He, the uncreated God of eternity, the amazing Creator of the universe, the sovereign Ordainer of redemption, the tender Sustainer of my weak soul… He will not let me fail.  He watches over me.  Every step.  Each step I take.  When I’m tired, He never fails.  When I’m so weary I can’t see clearly, He watches over me.  When I hurt so bad I’m too weak to stand, He stands beside me as my protective shade.  When the heat is scorching, He promises it will not hurt me.  When the night is dark, He promises to keep me from evil and to preserve my life.  He keeps me as I come.  He keeps me as I go.  Now.  and Forever. 

 

Its impossible for me to meditate on those truths and not find comfort for my soul.

I read an article this morning by JR Miller entitled “Guarded from Stumbling.”  This article was written in 1906, but is equally as helpful for today as it was then.  I’d encourage you to read it here.   Below is an excerpt from the article:

The Bible gives many assurances of protection to the children of God, as they pass through this world. They dwell in the secret place of the Most High, and abide under the shadow of the Almighty. They take refuge under the wings of God. …A mother, after a sore bereavement which changed all her life, was grieving at having to leave the old home where everything had grown sacred. Tears filled her eyes as she took the last look at the familiar scenes—house, grounds, trees, and hills. Her little boy tired to comfort her, and as he looked out of the window of the car, he said: “Why, mother, God’s sky is over us yet. It’s going right along with us.” We never can get beyond the blue of the heavens; we never can get out from under the shadow of the Almighty. Wherever we may have to go—we shall always have the love of God over us.

Leave a Reply

