why are you downcast? put your hope in God

Standard

 1(B) As a deer pants for flowing streams,
   so pants my soul for you, O God.
2(C) My soul thirsts for God,
   for(D) the living God.
When shall I come and(E) appear before God?[b] 3(F) My tears have been my food
   day and night,
(G) while they say to me all the day long,
   “Where is your God?”
4These things I remember,
   as I(H) pour out my soul:
(I) how I would go(J) with the throng
   and lead them in procession to the house of God
with glad shouts and songs of praise,
   (K) a multitude keeping festival.

 5(L) Why are you cast down, O my soul,
   and why are you(M) in turmoil within me?
(N) Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
   my salvation[c] 6and my God.

   

   My soul is cast down within me;
   therefore I(O) remember you
(P) from the land of Jordan and of(Q) Hermon,
   from Mount Mizar.
7Deep calls to deep
   at the roar of your waterfalls;
(R) all your breakers and your(S) waves
   have gone over me.
8By day the LORD(T) commands his steadfast love,
   and at(U) night his song is with me,
   a prayer to the God of my life.
9I say to God,(V) my rock:
   “Why have you forgotten me?
(W) Why do I go mourning
   because of the oppression of the enemy?”
10As with a deadly wound in my bones,
   my adversaries taunt me,
(X) while they say to me all the day long,
   “Where is your God?”

 11(Y) Why are you cast down, O my soul,
   and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
   my salvation and my God.

Psalm 42

Leave a Reply

