sometimes we get a glimpse

Standard

Faith is trusting in God when He doesn’t appear to be working.  Without faith, I can’t please God.  God asks us to follow what we cannot see.  But every now and then, He opens our eyes and gives us a glimpse.  

 

I caught a glimpse of a Holy and powerful God on Friday night during care group.  A God who loves me.  A God who forgives and calls me to obey, not out of fear, but out of a heart bound by love.  A good God.

 

Repentance is a response of faith… it’s a response beyond what my heart is able to give and it’s a response that the Holy Spirit grants freely to those who humbly come to Him seeking restoration.  God never rejects our prayers for forgiveness, for He sees a perfect sacrifice on our behalf.  He is truly loving.

 

 

God has been speaking powerfully to me this weekend.  He has shown me greater depths of my sin and even more great depths of His never-ending mercy.  What undeserved love He gives to a wretch like me. 

 

 

To approach a God of love, rather than a God of wrath is truly a gift.  He accepts me because of Jesus, not because I’m clean.  He cleanses me, not because I deserve it, but because of Jesus.  He puts me back on my feet and enables me to walk, not in my own strength, but because Jesus lived the perfect life I cannot.  Its all because of Him.  And I’m truly grateful.

 

Below are some verses and songs that have encouraged me greatly this weekend… 

 

Then Job answered the LORD and said: “I know that you can do all things, and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted… I had heard of you by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees you; therefore I despise myself, and repent in dust and ashes.” (Job 42)

 

And I said: “Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts!” (Isaiah 6)

 

“Woe to him who strives with him who formed him, a pot among earthen pots!  Does the clay say to him who forms it, ‘What are you making?’ or ‘Your work has no handles’?  Woe to him who says to a father, ‘What are you begetting?’ or to a woman, ‘With what are you in labor?'”  Thus says the LORD, the Holy One of Israel, and the one who formed him: “Ask me of things to come; will you command me concerning my children and the work of my hands?  I made the earth and created man on it; it was my hands that stretched out the heavens, and I commanded all their host. (Isaiah 44)

 

Have mercy on me, O God, according to your stedfast love; according to your abundant mercy, blot out my transgression.  Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin.  For I know my transgressions, and my sin is ever before me. O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise.  For you will not delight in sacrifice, or I would give it; you will not be pleased with a burnt offering.  The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.  (Psalm 51)

 

I love the Lord, because he has heard my voice and my pleas for mercy.  Gracious is the Lord and righteous; our God is merciful.  The Lord preserves the simple; when I was brought low, he saved me.  Return, O my soul, to your rest; for the Lord has dealt bountifully with you.  For You have delivered my soul from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling;  I will walk before the Lord in the land of the living.  What shall I render to the LORD for all His benefits to me?  I will lift up the cup of my salvation and call on the name of the Lord.  O Lord, I am your servant; I am your servant, the son of your maidservant.  You have loosed my bonds.  I will offer to you the sacrifice of thanksgiving and call on the name of the Lord.  (Psalm 116)

“Fear not, for you will not be ashamed; be not confounded, for you will not be disgraced; for you will forget the shame of your youth, and the reproach of your widowhood you will remember no more.  For your Maker is your husband, the LORD of hosts is his name; and the Holy One of Israel is your Redeemer, the God of the whole earth he is called. For the LORD has called you like a wife deserted and grieved in spirit, like a wife of youth when she is cast off, says your God. For a brief moment I deserted you, but with great compassion I will gather you. In overflowing anger for a moment I hid my face from you, but with everlasting love I will have compassion on you,” says the LORD, your Redeemer. “This is like the days of Noah to me: as I swore that the waters of Noah should no more go over the earth, so I have sworn that I will not be angry with you, and will not rebuke you.  For the mountains may depart and the hills be removed, but my steadfast love shall not depart from you, and my covenant of peace shall not be removed,” says the LORD, who has compassion on you.  “O afflicted one, storm-tossed and not comforted, behold …  in righteousness you shall be established; you shall be far from oppression, for you shall not fear; and from terror, for it shall not come near you. (Isaiah 54)

Then one of the seraphim flew to me, having in his hand a burning coal that he had taken with tongs from the altar. And he touched my mouth and said: “Behold, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away, and your sin atoned for.” (Isaiah 6)

 

Depth of mercy
© 1997 Sovereign Grace Praise (BMI).
Depth of mercy can there be mercy reaching even me?
God the Just His wrath forbears, me the chief of sinners spares.
So many times my heart has strayed from His kind and perfect ways,
Making clear my desperate need for His blood poured out for me.
Give me grace Lord let me own all the wrongs that I have done.
Let me now my sins deplore look to You and sin no more.
There for me the Savior stands holding forth His wounded hands;
Scars which ever cry for me “once condemned but now set free.”

 

Come Lord Jesus Come
© 1998 Sovereign Grace Worship (ASCAP).

 

Lord there is no one like You
You are the hope of my life
Knowing You Jesus
Is my great delight
Though now my vision is dim
Your beauty and splendor are great
I long for the day I’ll see You
Face to face

 

Oh Lord hurry the day
When our faith shall be sight
When this veil is pulled away
And we see Your glory and might
Come Lord Jesus come
Come Lord Jesus come

 

Spirit of God cleanse my heart
Rid me of all unbelief
While I fix my eyes on
The Lamb slain for me
We have this glorious hope
Our Great Redeemer’s alive
As sure as He rose He will come
For His bride

 

Leave a Reply

