many are the afflictions

Standard

at the beginning of 2008, i had the impression from the Lord that this would be a difficult year.  in more ways than I could have imagined at that point, that impression has proven to be true. 

Both physically and emotionally, this week has been extremely difficult.  I’ve been tempted almost every minute to give in to fear and anxiety.  I’ve struggled to trust in God’s sovereignty. I’ve struggled to be open with the amazing caring Christians that God has surrounded me with.  I have battled and often lost to feelings of anger.  I have wanted to crawl in a hole and simply cry.  Yet in His kindness, He’s surrounding me with an amazing example of His compassion – His church… my sweet friends. 

Psalm 34 says “i sought the Lord and he heard me and delivered me from all my fears.” What a comfort that gives to my fear-absorbed soul.  He hears my pleas. He will deliver me from my fears.  He is faithful.  My afflictions this year have been many, and though He has not taken many of them away, I can honestly say the Lord has delivered me.  Often he has given me a heart to rejoice, though bound by what seems like prison chains.   

He is good.  Through every pain, He is kind.  Even when I don’t understand, He is working and getting glory in my life (see Exodus 14:17-18). Taste and see that He is good.  at times this year, those tastes have seemed bitter.  Honestly, right now in my life it seems bitter.  But He is my refuge.  He will always be my refuge.  He hears the cry of the righteous.  He cuts off the memory of the wicked from the earth.  He is near to the brokenhearted. 

This is my God.  the God who delivers.  The God who hears.  The God who answers and saves and encamps and is near. To me… the brokenhearted… the weak… the hurting… the weary… the tired.

I was thinking today about the birth of Christ.  He came to bring peace.  He came to dissolve fear.  What a God this is… He humbled himself, came to a simple life, died a criminal’s death… all to bring life to this mortal body (Romans 8:11). 

Taste and see… He is good. There is no affliction over which He is not sovereign.  There is no trial or pain or hurt that He cannot heal.  He is good.  He is amazing.  This is my God.

5 responses »

  1. Emily,

    These are great thoughts. It made me think of what I read today in Morning and Evening. http://www.ccel.org/ccel/spurgeon/morneve.today.html

    specifically,

    It is not my aim to introduce doubts and fears into your mind; nay, verily, but I shall hope the rather that the rough wind of self-examination may help to drive them away. It is not security, but carnal security, which we would kill; not confidence, but fleshly confidence, which we would overthrow; not peace, but false peace, which we would destroy.

    As God is walking you through this season of trial and suffering may you always have in front of you that the only true comfort, peace, security and confidence is in God. He IS trustworthy and He WILL ALWAYS come through in delivering his children. His thoughts and his heart is on you, even as you sleep, because of His great love and compassion towards you.

    Merry Christmas friend and sister in Christ,

    Sara

Leave a Reply

