a living hope

Standard

“There is no pit so deep but Christ is deeper still.” Corrie Ten Boom

Consider Christian, that all your . . .
  trials and troubles,
  calamities and miseries,
  crosses and losses,
which you meet with in this world–is
all the hell that you shall ever have!

Here and now you have your hell.
Hereafter you shall have your heaven!

This is the worst of your condition;
the best is yet to come!
Thomas Brooks
  

 

 “Child of My Love! Lean hard! Let Me feel the pressure of your care. I know your burden, child!  I shaped it- I poised it in My own hand and made no proportion of its weight to your unaided strength. For even as I laid it on, I said I shall be near, and while she leans on Me, this burden shall be Mine, not hers.

So shall I keep My child within the circling ar ms of My own love. Here lay it down! Do not fear to impose it on a shoulder which upholds the government of worlds! Yet closer come! You are not near enough! I would embrace your burden, so I might feel My child reposing on My breast. You love Me! I know it. Doubt not, then. But, loving me, lean hard!”  Octavius Winslow

 

The gospel of Jesus Christ has a remedy for everything in life that is calculated to make us gloomy and sad.  It offers the pardon of sin to the penitent and believing; the aid ofgrace to those who struggle against an evil disposition; and help against temptation.  It promises to relieve the believer from fear and affords consolation in affliction. 

There is no reason why a true Christian should not be cheerful.  There are, indeed, many things, which he sees, within and without, that must give him pain.  But there is that in his Christian hope, and in the considerations brought to his mind from the Word of God which is able to bear him high above them all.  Harvey Newcomb

 

Who, amid these checkered experiences, does not sigh for something permanent, stable, enduring? The vessel has again and again slipped its earthly moorings. We long for some secure and sheltered harbor.

 “I change not!”  Heart and flesh may faint; yes, do faint and fail but there is an unfainting, unfailing, unvarying God. All the changes in the world around cannot affect Him. Our own fitfulness cannot alter Him. When we are depressed, downcast, fluctuating, our treacherous hearts turning aside “like a broken bow,” He is without one “shadow of turning.” “God who cannot lie,” is the superscription on His eternal throne; and inscribed on all His dealings.  John MacDuff

One response »

Leave a Reply

