Dear God, do not leave me

Standard

Dear God, do not leave me
give me your gracious Hand
and lead me as your child
until I reach the end.
Please guard me by your power
Remain to me my Light
my Shelter through the night
my God, do not leave me.

Dear God, do not leave me
reign throughout all my days
and don’t let me in sin and shame
fall helpless from your grace
Give me your Spirits’ work
Give grace to tust in you
Stay ever as my strength
my God, do not leave me.

Dear God, do not leave me
is what my heart’s depths cry
Almighty, strengthen me
through each and every trial
and when sin grabs my soul
and drags me from your side
remain true, save me even then.
my God, do not leave me.

Dear God, do not leave me
oh, let me follow You
and Father crown me with
your righteousness and strength
Let your works be my power
and your works be my guide
to follow as you lead
my God, do not leave me.

Dear God, do not leave me
I’ll stay faithful to you
Help me, Almighty One
to live upright and true
As I behold your face
lead me in life and death
my God, do not leave me

original in German Ach Gott, verlaß mich nicht by Salomo Franck
translated to English by Emily Schankweiler

Leave a Reply

