fears, dreams and sleep

Standard

God seems to be getting at the topic of fear in my heart lately…

I woke up a few minutes ago to the sound of my door creaking open and well, you know the feeling you get when someone is there?  yeah… that’s what woke me from my peaceful sleep just now (at 2 am).

Well, first i opened my eyes and just listened… i swear i heard breathing.  it gives me the shudders and shivers to even think of it now.

well, i turned on the light and no one was there.  so i got out of bed ready to pounce on the intruder using the delicate combination of a sleepy mind and brute strength (haha). all the doors were locked, my roommates are both peacefully snoozing and from what i can tell, no one else is here.

yet again, i find my first response to be one of fear.  it must have just been a creepy dream.  or some kind of attack.  But no matter what or who it was, God is the God who guards me while I sleep.  He is the one who protects me as I lie in my bed helpless to do anything.  He is the sustainer of my life against all forces of darkness.

Help me when I helpless lie,
when my conscience accuses me of sin,
when my mind is harassed by foreboding thoughts,
when my eyes are held awake by personal anxieties.

Show thyself to me as the God of all grace, love and power;
thou hast a balm for every wound,
a solace for all anguish,
a remedy for every pain,
a peace for all disquietude.

Permit me to commit myself to thee
awake or asleep.
A Puritan Prayer

“When I am afraid, I put my trust in You.  In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid.” Psalm 56:4

“My soul is in the midst of lions; I lie down amid fiery beasts … but my heart is steadfast O God, my heart is steadfast!” Psalm 57:4,7

“Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff they comfort me.”  Psalm 23 :4

“To You, O Lord, I lift up my soul.  O my God, in you I trust; let me not be put to shame, let not my enemies triumph over me.”  Psalm 25:1

“I will rejoice and be glad in your steadfast love, because You have seen my affliction; you have known the distress of my soul.”  Psalm 31:7

“When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears and delivers them out of all their troubles.”  Psalm 34:17

“By day, the Lord commands his steadfast love, and at night His song is with me, a prayer of God of my life.”  Psalm 42:8

“God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.  Therefore we will not fear though the earth gives way, though the mountains be moved into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam, though the mountains tremble at its swelling.”  Psalm 46:1-3

“For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all of creation will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  Romans 8:38-39

“Therefore take up the whole armor of God that you may be able to withstand in the evil day and having done  all to stand firm… in all circumstances, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming darts of the evil one; and take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God, praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication.  To that end, keep alert with all perseverance.”  Ephesians 6:14,16-17

“Finally brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.”  Philippians 4:8

“And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”  Matthew28:20

3 responses »

  1. I actually went to bed with some fear in my heart last night. This is a great post Emily. Thanks for sharing so much scripture. Just reading His word is so comforting.
    Kelli

  2. i’m glad they are encouraging to you… these are the scriptures that i read last night… as my heart was pounding and i had convinced myself that there was an intruder. they were comforting to me as well.

  3. No matter how much i suppress it, i know fear is something i continue to struggle and deal with.

    Some encouragement from Emily was nice to read today. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

