the gift of faith

Standard

Immediately the father of the child cried out and said, “I believe; help my unbelief!” (MK 9.24)

…  After all these years, the father’s faith barely registered on the scale.  He wasn’t even sure that this reputed miracle-worker could do anything.  After all, the man’s disciples hadn’t helped his tormented son.  His doubt-filled request to Jesus was: “If you can do anything, have compassion on us and help us.”

If I had been Jesus, I would have said, “Nice try, Jack.  Come back when you’re a little more convinced of my love and power.”

But instead of turning him away, Jesus encouraged him to have faith: “‘If you can’! All things are possible for one who believes.”  To which the man honestly admitted, “I believe, but I’ve got a whole lot of doubt, too.  Help my unbelief.”  Amazingly, Jesus replied: “I’ll take that.  I’ll take your mustard seed of faith and work with it.”  It’s almost like Jesus ignored his vast unbelief but grabbed his speck of faith as if it were monumental.  Then, unleashing his power through that particle of faith, Jesus healed his son.

original post at the Blazing Center

6 responses »

  1. I am not big on change… and i have to say the new layout threw me for a moment… 8) but i like it…

    Today’s entry… very good. The gift of faith… if it were not given, what would be left… i am not sure i ever really want to know…

  2. john you made me laugh out loud! thats funny. yeah, i don’t know if i like it or not. so, we’ll see… they say you can do a custom header with it but i couldn’t figure out how to make it work. so i may end up changing it back.

    i don’t want to know either… i’m grateful for the gift of faith… though it is often quite miniscule.

Leave a Reply

