when feelings win

Standard

ever have one of those days when feelings win?  or one of those weeks?  months?  yeah, you get the point… 

i’m curious what you do at those times.  for those of you who read but rarely comment, this is your chance to speak up.  for those of you who comment regularly, this is your chance too.  :)   i want to know… what do you do?  at those times when everything in your gut tells you to just quit.  or when you feel that you have no strength to take another step.  how do you effectively preach truth to yourself?  are there certain truths / aspects of God’s character / verses or songs that you find especially helpful? 

in many ways the last year or so of my life has been characterized by a melancholy cloud.  i know that much of that is simply my sin in allowing emotions rather than truth to guide my life.  i’ve read many scripture passages and many helpful books, such as the hidden smile of God by Piper, Spiritual Depression by M. Lloyd Jones, Job by Piper, When the Darkness will not lift by Piper and many more.  I find glimpses of hope yet so often find myself quickly circling back around to hopelesness. 

i know that my Father chose me, loves me and is in control over each second of my life.  i know that my Jesus forives my sin, that there is no condemnation for me.    i know that the Holy Spirit empowers me to resist sin and to live a life of godliness that is pleasing to my Father.   i know that i must continually be killing sin in my life, empowered by the Spirit.  I know that there is an inheritance kept in heaven for me.  And i know that one day I will see my Jesus face to face.  I know that one day there will be no more pain and my sweet Jesus, who suffered for me, will in joy wipe every tear from my eye. 

i am just weak right now.  and i need reminders.  so as my friends, will you please remind me?  share with me once again the hope that lies (albeit right now hidden to me) within me?  physically, mentally, spiritually, emotionally and every other way possible, i feel that the battle is greater than my God.  but i know that’s not true. 

so, my request for you is two-fold… first, would you pray for me?  pray that my hope will be in God, not my ability to fix or my utter inability not to.  and second, would you share with me some of the promises of God that have encouraged you?  thanks!

8 responses »

  1. You know I am praying for you, my friend. I am so looking forward to seeing you in a few short weeks!

    The book I referenced most recently on my blog (A Steadfast Heart) uses Ps 57 to speak directly to people in their trials. The most insightful part for me – so far! – was on the CD that came with the book. The book is describing the CD, and says something about that sometimes spoken word and music reach our hearts and touch us in a different way than reading a book does. I couldn’t agree more…when I can’t preach to myself anymore, and I can’t read, I listen to whatever God glorifying music I can get my hands on.

  2. Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. (Ps. 73)

    When I’m feeling hopeless and pessimistic about my crummy life (which happens a lot for me), I mediate upon the reality of God… I’m not delusional for believing in a Creator (look at the stars and beauty of creation). God is a real being who is not created by my imagination or thoughts about him. The same person who touches my life and the life of all those in the past will touch your life.

    I’m complete in Him (Col. 2 kjv). I revel in the fact that I don’t need anything or anyone else in the universe to make me complete and satisfied. I’m confidence of this very thing that Jesus who started a good work in me will finish it until I see him face to face (Phil. 1). Looking to Jesus the founder and finisher of my faith, I lay aside every burden and sin and although my body and my mind will fail, God is my strength… Taste and see that the Lord is good!

  3. Nicole, i’m so glad that his plans are not to harm me but to give me a hope and a future. i like that.

    Leanne, i can’t wait. :) i’ll have to get that book… sounds really good. i listen to music every night as i’m falling asleep. i find it helps keep my focus on God.

    worddriven, thanks for those verses. they are helpful. i especially like your comment about not being delusional for believing in the Creator… look around… such a great reminder. thanks.

  4. Oh how I understand listening to my feelings rather than truth. :) What serves me best? Doing as Nicole said and preaching (sometimes shouting) cross-centered truth to my soul. Telling it to shut-up and listen to what it doesn’t want to hear, but needs to hear. I also read specific Scripture…there’s a lot that I read and too much to post here. So, I’m going to post links to 2 sections of my blog. This is what I read when my soul is in the “depths of despair” (to quote Anne Shirley).

    http://photosandquotes.blogspot.com/search/label/Faithful%20To%20All%20His%20Promises

    http://photosandquotes.blogspot.com/search/label/Scripture

  5. Thanks for your honesty, friend. You’re an inspiration to me for how consistently you pursue joy in Christ, through trials much worse than my own. The only thing that’s worked for me is something that was Christa’s idea – don’t journal (personal, not blog) anything but thanks to God. Even if I can’t think of anything deeper than, “Thanks that this coffee is so good.” Sometimes, appreciating the little things like that helps me surrender my frustration enough to see the bigger things.

    I will pray. And you can pray for me too! I’m not doing so hot myself. But God keeps waking me up every morning, rather than letting me pass in my sleep, so I know there’s gotta be a reason.

  6. I will most definitely pray for you. Remember to preach to yourself… don’t listen… it is possible to lie to yourself BTW.

    For me… there are times i have to just get away from my daily routine… take time to get away and just meditate and refresh… perhaps this might be good for you to…

    God bless…

Leave a Reply

