free in Christ

Standard

So often in my life
I’m tempted to despair
I see the sin in my heart
And the wickedness in there

I can feel like I’m unworthy
Unfit to bear His name
Like I am not His child
Weighed down by all my shame

But then I remember
That the source of my faith
Does not lie within me
But in His amazing grace

Jesus saved me from myself
And all my wickedness
He rescued me from God’s wrath
And gave me His righteousness

Now I am forgiven
I No longer stand condemned
I’ve been cleansed in His blood
Washed clean and free from my sin

So now I am worthy
Because I bear His name
I am His chosen child
He has taken all my blame

Now I’m free in Christ
My hope in Him secure
I’m free to live for Him
My inheritance is sure

Copyright Matthew Rawlings, March 27, 2009

2 responses »

  1. Hey Emily,
    What a great reminder of where our hope lies! Not in our sinful selves but in Christ and His perfect work.
    Great poem, thanks for sharing this today.
    I hope that all is well with you.
    Blessings
    Ron Reffett

  2. i agree Ron, i really liked this poem. when i first heard it last week, i just knew i had to pass it on. thanks for your prayers. been praying for you. hope all’s going well.

Leave a Reply

