many thoughts

Standard

“when i thought “my foot slips” your steadfast love, O Lord, held me up.  When the cares of my heart are many, your consolations cheer my soul.”  Psalm 94:18-19

I spent all day trying to think of what to write.  I read many quotes and letters from Grace Gems, one of my favorite online sites.  I tried to find the “perfect” one to share with y’all.  I was desperately asking God to show me some glimpse of encouragement… some flicker of hope… some glimmer of God’s presence and compassion.  something to cheer my soul.

Yet somehow, nothing seemed adequate.  The cares of my heart have been many lately… cares like loneliness, job stress, finance shortages due to missed time at work and many medical bills lately, worrying about friends and their jobs and their stresses, health issues, more health issues, exhaustion and just overall the unknown.  having to say no to things that my heart longs to do simply because i can’t physically keep up.  worrying that i may have to bear this cross until the day i die.  struggling to trust in God’s care and compassion.  yet somehow also being completely confident of His care for me.

maybe i’m just tired.  but today just seemed dry.  well, at 4pm i got a call from my mom saying that my dad has pretty severe chemical burns in both of his eyes.  apparently the contact solution he bought yesterday was a bad batch and has caused his eyes to become severely red, inflamed and he can’t see clearly.  he said it seemed like he was looking at fog or a cloud or smoke.  so, on top of it all, add the fact that my dad could possibly go blind.

wow.  what a day.

then at 10 pm i got a text message from my dear friend, Charissa.  All it was was this verse… “when I thought “my foot slips” your steadfast love, O Lord, held me up.  When the cares of my heart are many, your consolations cheer my soul.”

what a sweet and timely gift that text message was to me tonight.  thank you Charissa for your care for me.  I know my God is faithful… He has promised to always be faithful and my confidence must rest there, for there is no other confidence apart from Him.

I would be so grateful for your prayers for my dad… God can heal the blind. He can raise the lame to walk and He can bring the  dead to life.  Pray that He would work a  miracle in my dad’s body so that he would be able to see again… and pray that he would be able to find work (he has been out of work for about 2 months now… was laid off).

thanks.  i’m gonna go to bed with the hope and confidence that when my foot slips…when i am too weak to hang on, that my God and His promises are what cheer my soul.

“why are you downcast o my soul… put your hope in God for I will again praise Him…”

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

