thoughts on “the room”

Standard

I remember the first time I read this story by Josh Harris called “the Room” (see post below).  It was shortly after I had become a Christian and I was reminded in such a powerful way of the amazing grace shown to me.  What a cause for rejoicing.  What peace this story brought to my soul.

How I need this reminder though every day… not just 5 years ago.  This past week, I was having a conversation and the other person accused me of something falsely.  I tried to point out that what they were saying was not the truth and the response I heard was “well, you are a liar.  you have shown a consistent pattern in your life over many years of lying.  things like that don’t change.”

How happy I am to know that those words are simply NOT true.  It is an accusation that Satan tries to use quite often in my life to cause me to despair.  But I know without a doubt that I am not that same lying punk kid I was 5+ years ago… the gospel has the power to change lives… even mine.

How do I know this?  I mean, if you look at my life, you still see lots of sin.  I hurt friends, I fail God, I don’t live with the righteous obedience that He requires of me.  So  how can I say so confidently that I am not the same person anymore?

Its because I’m no longer bound to my former sins any more than Jesus Christ is still bound to the cross on which He died.  The resurrection proves that His death was sufficent.  Those precious words “it is finished” applies for every CURRENT struggle… not merely the pre-salvation ones.

I pray my friend understands this truth one day… that the gospel does indeed have the power to change a wretch like me.

I’m not at all excusing my sin or saying that its not serious. My sins were so serious that Jesus Christ had to suffer and die for them.  But I have the confidence and hope that in His suffering and death, my condemnation, guilt and shame were absolved.

what a glorious truth!

4 responses »

  1. Thanks to your relationship with Jesus, you can sleep at night, knowing that you were truthful in this situation. You’ve lifted it up to God to deal with the other person’s non-belief of the truth, and you’ve left it to God to handle.

    God Bless you!

  2. Amen! \o/

    isn’t it so good to know that our Saviour has taken care of our sins pre-salvation AND current salvation! Past, present, future… none of it escapes His notice, or His grace!

    Thank you for sharing this Emily.

  3. Danielle – thanks for your encouragement. i wish i loved Jesus at your age like you do. :)

    Mike – sleep… what’s that? :) thanks. its hard to do that, but i’m trying… I love the verse that talks about entrusting your soul to the faithful Creator. He knows my heart and ultimately His approval is the only thing that matters.

    John – amen! praying for you.

Leave a Reply

