the joy of the Lord is my strength

Standard

When I see the fury of the law which I cannot appease
I’m tempted to fear and feel my soul doubting in unbelief
but at that point the righteous Judge looks to me and says
don’t be afraid, for in My strength, you’ll find sweet joy and rest.

The joy of the Lord has become my strength
in place of judgment and fear
I rejoice in the goodness He’s given to me
His presence is ever near.

The law has shown my unworthiness
Yet I stand here without shame
at the throne of merciful grace without end
I’m forgiven through Jesus’ name.

My advocate, He, before the Judge
declares my soul redeemed
He purifies me, and washes me clean
and lovingly calls me His friend.

This truth brings me joy when I start to despair: He’s faithfully working in me
I cling to the promise that He will complete the work that began on that tree.
I thank the Father for giving His Son to declare my soul to be clean
His strength is my joy, for through it I know that I my soul has been redeemed.

Leave a Reply

