wisdom

Standard

Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him. But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That man should not think he will receive anything from the Lord; he is a double-minded man, unstable in all he does.  James 1:2-8

wisdom… what does it look like? How do you grow in wisdom?  I often think of wisdom as something that simply grows with age.  and i’ve never really tied the passage in James together until I read it last night.

Anyone who has been part of my life over the past few years, knows that I have faced trials of many kinds.  I have grown in faith as a result of many things I never wanted to face.  I have grown in perseverance.  But often, I feel that I have stopped there.  Praise God that James didn’t stop there, but he continued, under the influence of the Holy Spirit, to a finished work.

The goal of trials in my life is maturity.  I don’t feel very mature.  I feel very aware of my immaturity.  I feel like I lack wisdom.  And again, how grateful I am that James continues.

“if any of you lack wisdom…”  wow, that includes me.  I’m painfully aware at times how often I lack wisdom.  understanding applied, with a realization of consequences and a thoughtfulness to my steps.  This verse is both encouraging and convicting simultaneously.  I often feel as if God tires of me coming and asking for help.  or that if I ask for something as powerful as wisdom, that He will look at me and say “yeah right… you??!! no way!”  but James doesn’t say that at all.  And that thought is not consistent with the God i have come to know through the past several years of facing many kinds of various trials.

My God gives generously and finds no fault in my weakness, because He deems me worthy and righteous through the Cross of Christ.  So, I can come and ask with confidence that God would grant me wisdom.  And because of His faithfulness and unchanging character, I can ask without doubting His ability or desire to grant this gift.

3 responses »

  1. Quite often I find myself, eyes closed, hunched in despair – my heart calls – I am not worthy of your blessings. I’m not. I know I’m not. It devastates me, but then a whisper of a sound as a cross erects in my mind. I hear that inner voice say – No you are NOT. It’s only because of my son. He died for you.

    The despair lifts. Because no matter what knowledge or discipline I lack. I am covered by his blood. How humbling.

    Isn’t it amazing how we constantly have to remind ourselves of this “gift”. Merry Christmas Emily! Rejoice!

  2. thanks wcharlson and angelia for your comments. isn’t it great that we are all part of the body of Christ and that we aren’t going through this alone? thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

