surrounded by a cloud

Standard

“Curse God and just die” was what Job’s wife said.
“Your God is unloving.  He’s left you for dead.
The trials in your life are too much to bear.
Forsake God in anger, for his ways are not fair.”

“A child when I’m this old?”  Sara did not believe
That her body could ever a baby conceive.
She wondered why God such a promise would give
And through Hagar presented an alternative.

“In a foreign land, I’m alone without an heir
And my husband is dead, my life’s one of despair.”
Mara said “Call me bitter. My life’s over and done.
The Almighty’s afflicted.  Hope for me? No, there’s none.”

“Take my words to the heathen. Tell them to repent.”
Jonah heard from the Lord, but he had no intent
To obey.  So he ran and was swallowed up whole,
As he learned the Almighty still had the control.

These examples are given to us, may we learn
To trust in our Savior; His will not to spurn.
He’s almighty, He’s sovereign, and He guides our steps fast;
We will see the way clearly when our steps are past.

With a heart as empty as her womb on that day
Hannah pleaded in faith, God His power to display.
“If You grant me a son, I will give Him to You.
Set apart for Your service, Lord, to this I’ll be true.”

Favorite son, but yet hated by his brothers he was
Sold to slave traders, taken, without any cause.
“You did it for evil, but God worked though your plan”
Joseph said, years later, as a humble, caring man.

“The walls are now broken, your city’s burned down”
The words Nehemiah heard as he fell on the ground
“Oh, my covenant God, have mercy, and hear
We, your servants return and we worship in fear.”

Jesus prayed in the garden, as his friends slept on by
“Please Father, take this cup from me, lest I die.
But not my will. I’ll trust through injustice and pain
May Your glory through my life and my actions reign.”

May I always reme mber the examples I’m given
Those who trusted the will of their Father in heaven.
Let me learn, too, from all those who doubted and feared,
Let me run, not grow weary, and in trust persevere.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.  Hebrews 12:1-3

One response »

Leave a Reply

