little glimpses

Standard

sometimes God gives us little glimpses of how He works.  life has been that way lately.

The last year has been a season of strange and frustrating loneliness.  I found after getting married that suddenly I’m not invited to singles events (duh, because I’m not single) but most of my close friends are single.  We joined a new care group, but didn’t really know anyone.  And due to many other reasons, the fellowship just didn’t “click” like it seemed to with some of my other friends.  Its been an item of prayer for months now.  And lately God has been working. And giving me glimpses of what He is doing in relationships around me.  I’m grateful to see Him working.  I’m grateful to be growing in these new relationships.  I am excited to be getting to really start to know the ladies in my care group.  I have much to learn from them…

ok, another glimpse.  Pots and Pans.  We’ve been using Ted’s old cheap set since we got married last May.  You know when the non-stick coating stops sticking to the pan, that they have had their last useful day.  Yeah, that day was about a month ago.  Well, a friend told me yesterday that she just “happens” to have an extra set of brand new pots and pans… still in the box… that she doesn’t need…that someone gave to her.    Its funny, we’ve talked about those pots and pans for months now, but neither of us ever put the links together and realized that she has an extra set to give away and I need a set.  Hm…  yea, I’m picking them up tomorrow.  Yup, thanks God.  And thanks Jess.  :)

as I mentioned in my post yesterday, I just started working full time again.  Had you asked me a month ago what my ideal job is, I couldn’t have planned something like this.  I’ll be working 3 days a week in the office and 2 days a week from home.  I can wear jeans (that’s always been a dream of mine for some goofy reason) and the job itself is a weird and unique balance of right brain and left brain.  I’ll be working as the Client Relations manager, but will also be doing infrastructure building and creating/ updating the documentation, organizing, project management, finance, marketing, advertising and long term planning.  oh, and I have a MacBook laptop that I can use…  :) so fun!  And the financial help is an added benefit.

God uses moments like that to give me hope for the other areas of life.  praying for a friend who’s struggling with singleness.  helping a friend who’s fighting major health issues and depression.  wanting to start a family.  wanting to grow to be a better friend and wife.  encouraging a friend who’s working through a difficult past.  trying to help point friends (and my own heart) to hope.  so many areas.  so much need for help from our God…

so grateful for the glimpses of God’s faithfulness. changes my perspective in areas that I consider “suffering” …  seems there’s a purpose behind it all…

 

More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.  Romans 5:3-5

 

i like these little glimpses.

3 responses »

  1. This is so encouraging to hear Emily. And I’m glad to see you are writing again…have missed your blog over these last few months.

    Grace and peace to you –

  2. thanks Joe for the encouragement. Instead of writing it seems I stored it all up in my head and it seems that it’s officially full now… no memory left. its good to be “back” :)

  3. it’s encouraging to see you praising God through your seasons of lonliness and migraines. may you come out on the other side looking more like him.

Leave a Reply

