migraines and prayer time

Standard

I hate migraines.  By God’s grace, I don’t have them nearly as often as I used to.  But I’ve learned something over the years of fighting with my migraines…  they make me more aware of my weakness.  They make me more aware that I need God.  And they make me more empathetic for others I know who deal with physical issues on a daily basis.

So, in an effort to “not waste my migraine” (lol), I realized that I could use these times of migraines to pray.  When I’m lying in bed with a heating pad wrapped around my aching head, I think of my friends who suffer much more than I do.  And I pray that God would bless them and if He chooses, that He would heal them.

It changes my perspective.  Doesn’t take away the pain, but it definitely gives me a better view of how I handle these times.  Helps me say like Paul “now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake.” Compared to Paul, it seems ridiculous to even call this suffering.  But God is using it.  He’s using it to strengthen my heart and hopefully to care for my friends as well.

May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy,  giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light.  He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son,  in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins. (Colossians 1:11-14)

–on a side note, I’m pretty sure this was why my brain was “mush” last night…  it was warning me of what was to come… sigh.

2 responses »

  1. Emily, I enjoy many of your posts at devotional christian, so thought I would visit your blog and found this post on migraine- you might say God uses any available means to get a message to someone! I have had an amazing breakthrough with migraine after suffering up to 5 a week for 33 years.I gave up wheat when trying the blood group diet- and have since decided not to follow that diet in detail- but giving up wheat has me almost totally migraine free- maybe 3 a month or less. Just thought to share this in case it might also be the help that you need?
    God Bless- and keep writing- you have a God-given ability that is a blessing to many.

  2. thanks Mary for your comment! I was actually gluten free for about 6 years after I was diagnosed with Celiac disease. I started eating it a few months ago after God healed me – long story… I will have to write a post about it sometime soon :)

Leave a Reply

