whew… i made it.

Standard

I can’t express how much I love my friends and my dear husband and how grateful I am for their help to make it through the hard weeks.  :)

this past week was tough.  About halfway through, I wasn’t sure if it was possible to make it through.  Between the ear infection, work, planning a calendar and organizing folks for our care group, planning a birthday party for my friend Anna and planning a baby shower for my friend Jess… it was a busy week!

Emotionally yesterday was a day of mixed emotions. I am thrilled at the amazing turnout and generosity for my friend and loved rejoicing with her. I loved that my creativity and planning were skills that God used to bless her. And I love that very soon I get to meet her little man and hold him in my arms. But I have to be honest, I cried on the way home. Maybe its the ear infection, the lack of sleep and the busyness of this past week. But, when I got home at 3:30 I laid down and Ted just held me as I wept. After a 3 hour nap,  he took me out to dinner to our favorite Mexican hole-in-the-wall joint here in TR. Mentally, physically and emotionally I just needed a break. A break from noise (my poor ears), a break from people, a break from the world. Ted is very good about knowing when I need that and comforting me and providing that for me.  I hated to miss Anna’s birthday party last night, but I was so exhausted that something had to go.   :(

This morning, I ended up sleeping in until 10:30 instead of going to church.  As much as I hated to miss, physically it was the right decision.  That extra three hours of sleep worked wonders.  We ended up going to lunch with some dear friends and mentally that was the refreshment I needed. Here’s hoping that next week isn’t quite as intense.  :)

 

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

