What’s next?

Standard

in about 15 hours we will head to Florida for the Next conference… a singles/ young married conference put together by Sovereign Grace.  Over the years, NEXT (formerly New Attitude) has pointed me back to God time and time again.  I’m looking forward to what is in store this year.  I’m going specifically with two prayers … 1.) that God would protect those of us attending, especially the young girls who have never been before.  and 2.) that God would heal my friend Heather.  She’s got a broken bone in her back and is currently in a wheelchair.  I don’t know what God’s plan is for this year, but I know those two things have been on my heart for weeks now every time I think about this weekend.  So, I’ve been praying.

Honestly I go with a heavy heart.  My grandfather has been on hospice care and they just decided to take him off all meds except for morphene and other comfort drugs.  I know his days left here are few.  May 2011 started by saying goodbye to our little baby and it looks like it could end with another goodbye.

I can’t think of a better time for Next to happen…  a time when my heart is full of grief.  My Savior knows that heaviness and I get to spend the next 4 days focusing on Him.  I get to set aside this time and remember the mercy He has shown to me time and time again. I’m not the same person that went to New Attitude for the first time in ’06.

My heart is full.  I’m grateful.  I’ve grown over the years and having Next as kind of a road marker along the way gives me confidence to walk on.  I don’t know what will happen in the next 12 months before Next happens again.  But I’m sure when that day rolls around, I will have more examples of how my God has been faithful and held me through trials and joys.

I look forward to updating y’all with what I’m continuing to learn … and appreciate your prayers for us as we go.

2 responses »

  1. Praying for you as you go – that God would meet you and minister deeply to your heart. I was in a similar place when I went to Celebration after the heartbreaking loss of our second baby, and I will never forget how God met me and worked in my heart while I was there. :)

Leave a Reply

