Created for care

Standard

I’ve spent the last two days at the Created for Care adoption moms retreat. Even though it’s not over yet it has been such a great time for me. It’s been such an encouragement to talk to moms who are ahead of me in this process and can offer insight to the things we are praying through in regards to our process.

I think the most encouraging part of the conference though has been the reality of God’s faithfulness to these moms in the midst of unimaginable trials. I am starting to pray for God’s protection over our children differently as a result. I’m praying for God’s deliverance for their children as well. And if even just a little bit, I’m seeing a fresh hope in God’s goodness to me. Going through nearly two years of infertility, three losses and such times of hard grief has made it easy to be introspective and lose hope. But seeing God’s faithfulness to my new friends reminds me of two things … 1. I am not alone in my struggles. And 2. There are trials we will face in this life but God has overcome the world and we can take heart in that promise.

I want to be able to recount God’s faithfulness in this process to my children one day. I want to remember it for myself as well, not look back with regret wishing I had learned what He was trying to teach me. He has done great things for me. My soul knows this very well. I’m so grateful for the reminder because quite honestly since my heart hasn’t felt it for a while, I’ve nearly forgotten. God, give me faith to persevere until I have the hope in You again.

We rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

20120128-223732.jpg

20120128-223801.jpg

20120128-223813.jpg

20120128-223832.jpg

Leave a Reply

